Our Board of Trustees

Dr. Eric Jackman - Founding Chair
Frederic (Eric) L.R. Jackman, C.M., O.Ont., C.D., Ph.D., C.Psych., LL.D., a businessman and psychologist serves as founding chair and trustee of The Psychology Foundation of Canada. Eric was educated at the Universities of British Columbia, Toronto and Chicago. Dr. Jackman is President of Invicta Investment Incorporated and Chairman of the Jackman Foundation. He is the Chancellor Emeritus of the University of Windsor and past President of the Art Gallery of Ontario, The Empire Club of Canada, and the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada, Toronto Branch, as well as being the immediate past Chair of the Atlantic Council of Canada. For his work to improve his community and Canada, Dr. Jackman has received the CMHA C.M. Hincks National Award for Mental Health, Canada’s 125th Anniversary Commemorative Medal, Her Majesty’s Golden Jubilee Medal, the Order of Ontario and two honourary doctorates.

Mark L.D. Smith M.B.A., Ph.D. is a former Partner in KPMG’s Advisory Services practice and holds an MBA in Finance and a  Ph.D. in Psychology from York University. He specializes in strategic planning, strategy implementation and  organization-wide change, and has depth of experience in both the private and public sectors – having led over 300  assignments in 150 organizations in Europe, Bermuda, the United States and Canada. Mark’s  previous work  experience includes: Chairman of a private equity firm, Kensington Capital; Chairman of the Investment Committee for  the $12  billion insurance fund of the WSIB; Vice Chair of Mercer Delta Canada and head of its Strategy and Corporate  Governance practices; Founder and  CEO of Johnston Smith International (JSI), Canada’s largest change management  consulting firm (JSI was bought by Mercer Delta in 2002);and, CEO  of Hay Management Consultants, Canada’s largest human resources and compensation consulting firm. 
Mark has also been very active in the community. Over the years, he has served on the Boards of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, the Schulich School of Business (where he is currently an Executive in Residence), the Invest in Kids Foundation (where he was chair of planning), the Children’s Aid Society Foundation, the YMCA, the Premier’s Council on Health Strategy and the Rosedale United Church. He also served as program advisor to Outward Bound and helped them develop their corporate leadership development programs.

Harriet Lewis - Past President

Harriet Lewis B.A.,M.A., LL.B.completed both her Honours Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts in English at York. She went on to earn an LL.B. from the University of Toronto and was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1977. After a number of years in private practice, Harriet returned to York  in 1988 when she took up the post of a University Counsel. In addition, in June 1998, Harriet was appointed University Secretary. As such,  she is the Secretary of the Board of Governors and its committees, as well as the Secretary of Senate, its Executive Committee and Sub-Committee on Honorary Degrees and Ceremonials. In her capacity as University Secretary and General Counsel, she is a member of the University Executive Committee, the President's Priorities Committee and several other administrative committees, as well as a member of the Board of Directors of the York University Development Corporation. Her office also oversees the licensing of the University's names and marks and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Office. Harriet has served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Universities Reciprocal Insurance Exchange and is a past President of the Canadian Association of University Solicitors. She currently also serves on the Board of the Starfish Greathearts Foundation and the North York


Treasurer - Michael Ort, CPA, CA Partner, Audit Technology, Media & Telecommunications
Michael Ort is an audit partner with KPMG with significant experience in managing complex assurance engagements for telecommunications, software, technology and publishing clients.  Michael leads multiple audit engagements and practices in US GAAP and IFRS.  Most recently, Michael has expanded his practice to focus on ongoing complex accounting change and implementation project.  Michael serves in a leadership role for financial analysis, system implementation, and finance process development for clients.  Michael holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Toronto.

Dr. Reva A. Gerstein - Past President
 Dr. Reva Appleby Gerstein, C.C., O.Ont., LL.D, D. Litt., Ph.D., C.Psych. was educated as a psychologist at the University of Toronto before the Second  World War and was one of the early female graduates with a Ph.D. in psychology. She was also the first woman Chancellor of the University of  Western Ontario from 1992 to 1996 and has been a pioneer in the role of women on the boards of major corporations. Her over 50-year career as a  psychologist, educator, community leader, member of the business community and humanitarian has contributed in an extraordinary way to  Canadian society. A pioneer in Canadian mental health, Dr. Gerstein created two institutions, the Gerstein Crisis Centre and the Hinck's Treatment  Centre for Adolescents, in addition to initiating "Mental Health Week". She is also a Fellow of the Canadian Psychological Association.

Her many honours have included:

1974: Made a Member of the Order of Canada, promoted to Officer in 1979 and promoted to Companion in 1997.
1988: Awarded the Order of Ontario.
1993: Awarded an honourary Doctor of Laws (psychologist, community and university service) from York University.
1996: Awarded an honourary degree from the University of Toronto.

Honorary Advisory Council              

Professional Advisory Council 

Charles S. Coffey O.C., LL.D
Chaviva Hosek O.C., Ph.D, LL.D
Margaret N. McCain O.C., LL.D, MSW
Michael H. Wilson P.C., C.C., LL.D 
Harriet Stairs BA.

John Arnett Ph.D., C. Psych.
Peter Bashew Hotz Ph.D.
Ester Cole Ph. D., C. Psych.
Jennifer Connolly Ph.D., C.Psych.
Janel G. Gauthier Ph.D.
Thomas Hadjistavropoulos Ph.D
Fred Horsley Ph.D. 
Troy Janzen Ph.D., R.Psych (AB)
Gerard M. Kysela Ph.D. NB
Adam McCrimmon Ph.D.
David Mykota Ph.D.
Pierre Ritchie Ph.D.
Abe Ross Ph.D.
Donald H. Saklofske Ph.D. 
Steven Stein Ph.D., C.Psych.